Wisdom Teeth

Yesterday I had my wisdom teeth out. Considering I leave in six days, it’s a little late! I went to the dentist for a regular checkup on Tuesday before I left. My wisdom teeth have been coming for a couple of years and my dentist had wanted to leave them as they were pretty straight and I had the room due to previous extractions. However the teeth haven’t completely come in and sections, especially on the bottom teeth, are still covered by gum. When I had my x-rays, it showed that the areas under the gum where beginning to rot and thus the teeth needed to be removed. But at that point I was leaving eight days, so they scheduled me for two days later.

Unfortunately, my parents are still on their anniversary trip, so I arranged for a very kind neighbour to pick me up afterwards. Luckily since all the teeth had surfaced, I was just frozen, not put under and he removed the teeth in about forty minutes. He did really have to wrench to get bottom two teeth out, and I experienced a lot of bleeding – like a sink full of soaked bloody gauze, which was super gross. Aside from that, the only thing I’m disappointed about is not actually getting to see the teeth (yes, possibly a weird desire) but I was too groggy after the extraction and it totally slipped my mind. Luckily in the morning, the bleeding has stopped and I haven’t swollen much. I’m a little sore, but I’m not in too much pain – although talking and eating still hurt a bit. I’m hoping to heal quickly over the weekend so I’m ready to go on Wednesday! So wish me luck!

My wisdom tooth buddy - I keep bugging her for tips and to make sure my symptoms are normal!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

