St Patrick’s Day

St Patrick’s day in most of the world seems to be a celebration of excessive green and excessive drinking while everyone pretends to be Irish. And before anyone says I sound unimpressed – I do actually like all those things! To be fair, I don’t have to pretend to be Irish – that comes naturally from my mother’s side. But as for green and drinking – those I can embrace wholeheartedly! So of course for St Patrick’s day I celebrated by making green food, although technically I made said food earlier in the week. My reason for this was so I could share my green alcoholic cupcakes with my coworkers (yes drinking at work is for the cool kids) instead of eating them all myself… Earlier today I went to the St Patrick’s day parade and outdoor concert in the city centre, but as luck would have it, I completely failed at photos due to dead batteries. Must remember to check batteries before leaving the house. However, the parade was a sea of green and the Celtic music was lovely and lively. But today I’m going to share my recipe for Guinness and coffee chocolate cupcakes with Bailey’s Buttercream. So good… I’ve been bribing all the delivery guys at work with them so they’ll be nice to me. Pretty sure it’s working! This recipe is adapted from one I found on the Brown Eyed Baker’s blog, so if you want the original, head on over there!

Yummy… and Green!

Chocolate Coffee and Guinness Cake with Baileys Frosting

For the Cake:
1 cup Guinness
½ cup strong coffee
1½ cups unsalted butter
1 cup cocoa powder
3 cups flour
3 cups granulated sugar
2¼ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 eggs
2/3 cup sour cream or plain yogurt (I used Greek style)
For the Frosting:
1 cup butter (2 sticks), at room temperature
3 cups powdered sugar
4 Tablespoons Bailey’s Irish Cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Put liners in cupcake tins (makes 24-36).
2. Place the stout, coffee and butter in a large, heavy saucepan, and heat until the butter melts. Remove the pan from the heat, and add the cocoa powder. Whisk until the mixture is smooth. Set aside to cool to room temperature.
3. Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl; set aside.
4. In a large mixing bowl, beat together the eggs and sour cream. Add the stout-cocoa mixture, mixing to combine. Add the flour mixture and mix together at slow speed. Scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl, and mix again for 1 minute.
5. Divide the batter equally among the prepared pans. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven and cool on a rack for 10 minutes before turning out of their pans and returning to the rack to finish cooling completely before frosting.
Frosting:
1. Cream butter and slowly add half the icing sugar beating well. Add the Bailey’s and vanilla. Continue adding icing sugar and beating until the proper consistency is achieved. (Add a few drops green food colouring if desired)
2. Decorate cupcakes.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Holidays

One response to “St Patrick’s Day

  1. shannon

    These look so delicious!!

Leave a Reply

