Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

I adore Terry’s Chocolate Oranges. So does my roommate. So I decided to make chocolate orange cupcakes. Because everybody like chocolate and fruit. And those who don’t are like people who don’t like dessert – just untrustworthy… Seriously people, who doesn’t like dessert? These are amazing cupcakes: rich, moist, and intensely chocolate with a hint of orange. I decided to top these with a beautiful white chocolate buttercream also flavoured with orange. These were devoured by my coworkers. Baking is the perfect way to bribe the boss. Italy here I come! (Just kidding, I asked for time off before I told him about the cupcakes) I’m not doing very well with updating as often as I’d like and I’m off to London and Edinburgh the next two weekends so I’ll have new material, but I may not get around to posting about it for awhile.  Anyways, just try these cupcakes. You’ll love them!

Yum!

Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 175g plain chocolate, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups ground almonds
  • 4 oranges, rind and juiced
  • 2 cups self raising flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
1. Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
2. Gradually beat in egg yolks followed by melted chocolate.
3. Fold in almonds. Next add the rind and juice.
4. In a separate grease free bowl, whisk egg white until it forms soft peaks.
5. Fold egg whites into the chocolate mixture.
6. Sift flour and cocoa powder and add the to wet mixture slowly using a spatula.
7. Pour into cupcake liners and bake for 15-20 minutes at 170C, preheated oven.

White Chocolate and Orange Buttercream

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 ½ cups icing sugar
  • 2-3 tbsp milk
  • 50g/1¾oz white chocolate, melted
  • 1 orange, zest only

For the white chocolate and orange buttercream, beat the butter in a bowl until light and fluffy. Carefully stir in the icing sugar and continue to beat for five minutes. Beat in the milk, melted chocolate and orange zest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

